top of page

Brainy Breakfast


When I get up in the morning I am starving! I need to get something in my body that is fast and good. For hardworking women on the go (who don't care for cold oatmeal in a jar) I came up with a healthy and easy solution: Grilled vegetable and cheese sandwiches. It first started out as thin slices of grilled zucchini on ciabatta bread with Dijon mustard and Gruyere cheese. To make it easier I would grill the zucchini with my dinner on Sundays. Every morning I would put the sandwich together and put it in the oven open faced and take my shower. Don't forget to turn on the timer so you don't walk out of the house without it (and with your oven on).

After a couple of weeks I got creative and changed the bread to whole wheat, changed the vegetable to roasted sweet pepper, added an egg white and changed the cheese to Swiss. Oh my! I once added Canadian bacon and I almost bit my fingers off eating it in the car. I wrapped it up and usually eat it when I get in early to work but it smelled so good that day I couldn't wait.

I'm going to set the record straight on the oatmeal in a jar. I have read through several recipes and I found the same error in all of them: it needs a pinch of salt! Oatmeal is like grits, polenta, bran, and rice, they need salt. Whether you eat them sweet or savory, salt is REQUIRED to bring out the flavor. Try it and you'll see. Another thing oatmeal needs is fat. So, heat that goodness up and stir in a little bit of unsalted butter, then dress it up with walnuts, bananas, berries, honey or agave. Yum!

Here are some tips from the February Newsletter about breakfast that anyone can sign up to receive monthly here on my website:

Yes, Mom was right. Breakfast is an important way to start the day, for kids and adults alike. Skipping breakfast can lead to erratic eating patterns throughout the day, indulgence in more junk food and ultimately, weight gain. Here are three benefits of eating breakfast:

  1. Breakfast Jump-Starts the Gut: Studies show that people who begin the day with a balanced breakfast of protein, carbs, and fiber tend to eat less junk food during the day because it primes the brain and gut to expect (and crave) nutritious food for the rest of the day.

  2. Breakfast Jump-Starts the Brain: When you sleep, you’re fasting. Breaking your fast revs up your metabolism, and perks up the brain. Eating a nutritious breakfast and feeding your neurotransmitters, the neurochemical messengers that rev up your brain and steady your moods, will help you feel energized and relaxed during the day.

  3. Breakfast Keeps You Lean: Skipping breakfast will not help you lose weight! Studies show that breakfast eaters are leaner because by “front-loading,” they prepare their bodies for the rest of the day. (Excerpt Dr. Sears Wellness Institute)

Regardless to what you choose to eat for breakfast whether it's a piece of cheese and fruit with nuts, eat breakfast and be mindful of your morning sustenance.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page