top of page

STRETCH YOUR PAIN AWAY

Full disclosure: I have a chronic illness that can sometimes inhibit my flexibility and balance. With that said, I don’t use that as an excuse to not continually attempt to stay fit when I can. For those of you with Fibromyalgia, Diabetes, ESRD and Lupus you know what I am talking about when I say right when you get to a point of progress, something happens and knocks you back a few steps. It’s the same with life, but we keep on going.

Last March I had just got to the point where I was walking straight without much of a wobble and I learned that I had to go back in the hospital to have that kidney removed. I called him “Kingston” while it was working but when it stopped working and started causing me pain it had to go. In case you are wondering I’m talking about a transplanted kidney that I received in 2012.

After the kidney was removed I was walking around the hospital getting back into my usual habit and I left for home on my way to healing. About a week later I was back in the hospital with a 12-centimeter abscess on the inside of the wound. I will spare you the medical details but suffice it to say that led to three more abscesses forming and a lot of laying around in the hospital and at home for a few months. What you have to watch out for with laying around trying to heal is muscle atrophy and I have to say that the name is deceiving because there is nothing rewarding about it!

After one particularly grueling hospital visit I discussed with my doctor getting some physical therapy. I received some in the hospital which consisted of stretching and then he wrote an order for me to receive assistance at home. I wasn’t too happy about it at first until after my first home visit. The professional stretched me out on my bed, used the counter top in the kitchen and finally we went outside for a walk. After they left I not only felt better physically but I also felt better mentally. You see, that little bit of activity signaled my brain to release some endorphins that also eased the pain I was feeling. I wanted more!

Now I go to physical therapy at Holistic Vitality Center where I receive regular treatments for balance and flexibility. Whether your thing is yoga,* water aerobics, walking or simple floor stretches from a DVD; exercise is not just good for the body it's also good for the soul. Test it out for yourself and go for a walk the next time you are feeling down (or lounging around on the couch). Check yourself when you are finished and see how much better you feel. My point is just to get up or get out and MOVE!

*When I am able my yoga place is with Claudia at Y Respira in North Raleigh.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page